Archive for September 13, 2006

The scores are in…

a.gif

And I kicked booty on my Praxis exam!  I was tested about a month ago on “English Language/Literature Pedagogy.” Basically a test that costs $140 to see if you know how to teach LA/Lit.  I just got my scores in the mail tonight.

Overall, I received 180 points out of a possible 200 on the test.  This gives me a passing score which means I am licensed to teach in Hawaii…wait, haven’t I already been teaching here for four years???  I also got the maximum score on the “Responding to student writing” portion where I had to point out areas to help a student on based upon what he/she wrote in an essay.  Well then…maybe I can teach after all??? LOL!

Three…it’s a magic number

Howdy folks.

Just dropped by to say that my third FRESHMAN of the year (1.5 months) has been suspended on “zero tollerance” for being under the influence/in posession/possibly selling drugs on campus.  I’m still just flaberghasted that:

A) They are 14 and possibly selling drugs already!

B) We’ve only been in school for just over a month and

C) They were too stupid to learn from their first friend who got busted just a few weeks ago for the same freakin’ thing!!!

UGH! What is wrong with these kids?!weed.jpg

In addition, what is wrong with the system?  For drug offenses they are given a 90 day suspension…sounds like a 3-month vacation to me!  We should make them go to Narcotics Annonymous or something.

In related news, the school year is going ok.  I read one period’s “final essays” tonight…let’s just say “yikes!”  We’re almost done with first quarter already which makes my mind boggle.  It’s going so fast!!!