Archive for February 25, 2007

Temple Valley…appropriately named

So, Adam & I have lived in Temple Valley for quite some time now and had seen the temples from afar. Actually it looks like a huge graveyard from the road. However, once you drive up the road there is an ancient temple in the back that cannot be seen any other way.

Today, as an attempt to procrastinate even farther my friend and coworker, Marc, invited me to go across the street and check out the temple. Wow, I wish I had gone before. I’ve included some pictures of this amazing place.

temple.jpg

This is the temple from the parking lot

melfalls.jpg Me by a small waterfall on the temple grounds

melgong.jpg

This huge gong is said to usher the spirits into the afterlife

group.jpgThe group of us who wentmarc-and-mel.jpgMarc and Mel

We read that the temple was made not using a single nail. It was erected to honor the Japapese immigrants who came to Hawaii. For any of you who are heading out this way, come over and we will walk over and check it out! It was well worth the trip!