Standing Ovation

I’m pretty sure everyone on here knows that I used to sing. A lot in fact. Well, this little nugget of information has leaked out to my students…and oh the consequences!

Yesterday after school, the choir and band teacher came into my classroom and begged me to sing the national anthem for the VALIDATE assembly today. I tried to wiggle my way out of it, but the man just would not take no for an answer…so I sang it.

I was sooo nervous! Why is it that singing for huge crowds of people is no biggie, but singing for students is like jumping off a cliff?! I don’t know how it got out but by the time I got to the school this morning the whole student body was abuzz with the news. I told them I was scared and they reassured me all day long.

When the moment of truth finally came I stood and walked up to the podium in the middle of the gym. My heart felt like it was going to jump out of my throat. I took about 4 steps forward and the gym errupted. The boys all jumped up and started cheering. It was my first standing ovation since performing in college. Not a peep in over 400 adolescent boys the whole time, except for giggles with me when my voice cracked at “Rockets Red Glare.” Before I even finished the last line they were out of control again.

I felt like a celebrity. I went out an a tiny, shakey limb for them and I know that the fruit I was reaching for will be oh-so sweet. I have proven to them that I will go the distance for them and you know what… It makes all the difference.

I feel so very honored.

1 Comment »

  1. Mom Mitchell Said:

    I’m so glad you’re singing again!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

